sgpingpong.com

You are not connected. Please login or register

Self-Ranking - Could be Useful in Setting Up Sessions

Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 3]

Hi Guys and Girls,

Just joined this forum today. Be gentle with me tongue

I was doing some research & wondering whether this system of self-appraisal has caught on in our sunny island. It could be useful in arranging TT sessions when you want to find kakis of similar standards; particularly when you just want to find or form a group who's of similar standard so that you don't have cramp their style and vice versa. Check it out:
USATT Self-Ranking

PS - Self intro: Being the latest newbie here I guess I should. The Olympics has re-ignited my interest in TT! Got the ole bat out of the woodwork. Have been trying to play decent tennis more or less weekly for several years and half succeeding. Would like to play with others who might be willing to take me in & relatively living nearby. ON the basis of the ranking above, I'm probably a rating of 7.0. I'm in my 40s now, & I hope to find out the truth about whether I can play as well as hoped, once I get a game going.

dryvuuu

International Level
International Level
Welcome to the forum.
It is a good system & can be used quite effectively if players are honest enough with their self-appraisal. Wink

View user profile

Hi dryvuuu

Agreed - I think that folks will probably be off by + or - 1.0 depending on whether they are the 'overhumble' type or er-not-so-humble type heheh

dryvuuu

International Level
International Level
Well I know a player who is above 10 & will only admit he's only 1.0 & there will also be players who think they are 20 when they are actually 2.0! laugh

View user profile

Yeevel

Beginner Level
Beginner Level
dryvuuu wrote:Well I know a player who is above 10 & will only admit he's only 1.0

We might actually know the same player here... LOL